This Magic Moment

I used to not trust the word  magic.  It conjured up images of sorcerers and spells and all kinds of crazy things.  Now I love the word, and I hope to create it as much as I can.

Recently, I experienced some magic, but it wasn’t of my own creation.  My four year old grandson, Cairo, was spending the night with us, and, shortly after getting up in the morning, he climbed up on my lap, wrapped his arms around my neck, and said, “You’re just the kind of grandma I wanted!”.  Wow!  Time seemed to stand still for a moment as I tried to take that in.

My first thought was did he climb up on God’s lap just a few short years ago and put in a request?  Then I thought that I must at least be doing something right to be the kind of anything someone wanted.  Then I thought that he certainly was the kind of grandson I wanted.

Of course, each one of my grandchildren is exactly what I want.  I love my children dearly, and raising children was one of the most fun and fulfilling things I have done, but, I am sorry to say, I was way too critical of my own children.  I was so concerned with having them “turn out right” that I often concentrated more on the outward behavior than their inner beauty and amazing potential. With grandchildren, you are relieved of the day to day hassles of ordinary life and can much more easily see them as the delightful people that they are, as well as the wonderful people they will become.

So, that moment in my kitchen with Cairo was magical.  We experienced a connection so deep and special that the world disappeared for just a second.  Looking back, I am sure that endorphins  and serotonin were being released from our brains, and our hearts and brains were in sync because, you see, magical moments are good for us!

With children, these kinds of moments could be happening all the time; we just need to slow down and pay attention.  Sometimes something a child says can actually help us to slow down and pay attention – it is just that profound.

With adults, we have to work at it a little more.  Competition, feelings of inferiority, pride, fear, judgment, unforgiveness, and so many, many other things get in the way of relating in a magical, meaningful way.

Some people are very good at creating a physical atmosphere that is magical.  This is even easier at Christmas when we can decorate with all kinds of twinkly lights and beautiful things (and what better time than Christmas for connecting and helping bring peace and good will).  This is a gift in itself – to provide a haven from the world that is so relaxing, so pleasant, so beautiful that it creates a desire to connect and enjoy the moment.  These people don’t even have to say anything.  Their physical creation is their gift.

Other people have the kind of magical aura  that just gathers everyone around them in and makes them feel special and important.  Usually very open and nonjudgmental, these people can make you feel that the world really is a good place,  and you have an important place in it.

One definition of the word magic is: any extraordinary influence, charm, power, etc.  When you look at it that way, we are all magical.  I could come up with all kinds of examples of magical gifts people have.  The important thing is to follow the intelligence of your heart and use them.

Don’t be so preoccupied with the cares of the world, or the racing thoughts in your head, or the hurtful remark that someone made to you yesterday, that you forget to bring your magic to the world.  Sometimes,  just in doing that, the other things take care of themselves.  And don’t forget to enjoy the moment!

Leave a Reply

