Being Real

I am going to be honest – sometimes I read things I have written, and the conversation in my head goes something like this: “You are so weird. No one thinks like that.  No one writes like that. Why can’t you be more witty or funny or more entertaining. . . Blah, blah, blah. . . ”

Then I have to remind myself that when I put my pen to paper or my hands to the keyboard, this is what comes out.  And I have to go back to Life Lesson 101:

ACCEPT WHO YOU ARE

BE YOURSELF

TRUST YOURSELF

LOVE WHO YOU ARE

BE HUMBLE

BE GRATEFUL

BE REAL

KEEP GOING FORWARD

I might as well go on to the next life lesson:

LET OTHER PEOPLE BE THEMSELVES

TRUST GOD TO BRING THE RIGHT PEOPLE INTO YOUR LIFE

LOVE UNCONDITIONALLY

FORGIVE

LOOK FOR THE GOOD IN OTHERS

I know I will keep going over these lessons as long as I live.  Of course, there are other things to add to these, like: There is always room for improvement;  Make peace with the past (then you can keep going forward); Don’t get involved any more than you have to with people that your inner wisdom tells you are not safe or emotionally healthy for you; Don’t use “I’m just being real”  as an excuse to hurt someone unnecessarily; Live consciously in the present moment (that way you are less likely to have regrets and have to backtrack to deal with things); Always believe that change is possible. . .

That’s the great thing about life – there is always more to learn and always room to grow.  It is an adventure, and I don’t want to live it with a mask on, afraid to let my true voice come through. Neither should you – we all benefit if you let your true gifts shine – whether that be as an artist or encourager or father or mother or waitress or mechanic or librarian or massage therapist – the world will be a better place when you find your place in it!


Leave a Reply

