“With God All Things Are Possible”

The end men looked for cometh not,

And a path there is where no man thought.    Euripedes

We think we know it all.  We are so used to the idea of focus, that we don’t know how to take in the panoramic view sometimes.  We think there is no way, no solution, no answer, when we are really only seeing with tunnel vision.

Focus, of course, can be a good thing, and it has its place, but we need to learn to envision the wide world of possibilities beyond our old ways of thinking and seeing.

This applies to situations on a global scale as well as ruts, problems, and dead ends in our own lives.  Practice being open, train yourself to see beyond the horizon, don’t think that because something has always been this way that it has to remain this way, and, for heaven’s sake, don’t think that because you can’t see the path, there is no path.

I may be accused of being too idealistic, but over half of my life was lived with a pessimistic bent, almost waiting for the “other shoe to drop”.  In my mind at the time, the path might have been there for other people, but not for me.

I remember telling a girl in my college dorm that I wouldn’t let myself get my hopes up about anything because that way I couldn’t be disappointed.  That is so sad!  My heart goes out to that younger version of myself, who had such a gloomy outlook on life.  Negative expectations may come out of childhood trauma, but it doesn’t have to stay that way.

Since I have decided that God is good, and the universe is friendly, I have changed.  Even if what seems like a problem comes up, I have come to expect that good will be the result.  Even if I have a period in my life that seems dry and empty, I believe it is just a resting and growing time for more good to come into my life.

Dictating what form that will take is not my job – I can’t always tell what would be my highest good – but I am wide open to the possibilities.  I do try to avoid double-mindedness – desiring something,  but then thinking it is unlikely or impossible, or complaining that I don’t have it.  My responsibility is to remain open and pay attention. . .

I am not sure what the quote at the beginning of this post was supposed to mean – Euripedes was a Greek tragedian – but I take it to mean that worry is a total waste of time, and there is always a way, even when there seems to be no way.  I am so grateful that it is possible to trade in our old way of thinking and have our minds renewed!

Leave a Reply

