Thoughts at the end of winter

I am making granola today using a recipe from the wonderful book Farm Chicks in the Kitchen.  It is one of my favorite granola recipes because of the combination of peanut butter, coconut, pecans, and cinnamon.  Delightfully different.

While I was gone yesterday, my husband brought home some daffodils, and I have enjoyed watching them open up this morning.

His dad enjoyed all kinds of flowers, and after watching him bring home colorful bouquets this winter to brighten the house, I’m thinking he also has that love of beauty. I guess most of us do, but we don’t always do anything about it.

Last week-end, our grandson Cairo celebrated his birthday with family, friends, and classmates at the YMCA.  Dinosaurs were the theme of the day, and the kids took turns pinning the horn on the Triceratops (I think that’s his name).

They bounced away in the bouncy house, played basketball, and did a lot of tumbling in the gym.  I think Cairo thoroughly enjoyed it, along with the pizza, cake, and ice cream.

Ethan managed to shoot a few hoops  from his wheelchair (with a little help catching the ball as it came down so it wouldn’t hit his casts).

Just imagine the energy of a 10 year old boy who hasn’t been out of the house for about a week and a half and has been confined to a bed or wheelchair!  Cairo’s party came along just in time because  there was a lot of room to wheel around and play.

I spent two days at the end of the week at an excellent training on restorative justice and the circle process.  I’ve been doing volunteer work in this area for about a year and haven’t written about it because when I do, I want to do it justice.  It is such an important and potentially life-changing topic.  I want to have a little more experience before I spend much time trying to explain it to someone else.  I am so grateful for the people I have met through restorative justice.  They have a heart for young people and are changing the way we look  at them and at justice and accountability, and  the ways we relate to one another and bring restoration to victims and communities after crime.

The snow piles shrunk ever so slightly this week, and next week should bring even warmer temperatures.  It really is a wonderful time of the year because each day brings changes, and even if we have a snowstorm, it will melt relatively quickly. I have to remember to take time each day to breathe deeply outdoors and savor each little sign of spring!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts at the end of winter

Leave a Reply

