River of Life

How much of God’s grace and love and creativity and nourishment am I allowing to flow through me?  It depends on how clean and open I keep the channel through which it flows.  How much hate, judgment, fear, jealousy, bitterness, and complaining have I allowed to build up and block the flow?  How much have I let other people’s criticism and negative input and my own self-doubt close off the channel?

It occurred to me today that I need to regularly make sure I keep the channel clean, to shine the searchlight on my heart and rotorooter out the things that keep the life and light of God from getting through.

I have to remember that I don’t have to fill the channel – I only have to allow the flow.  And I have to remember that the abundant, fruitful life Jesus talked about can only be found where living water is allowed to flow freely and bring nourishment, life, and growth to everything in its path.

Leave a Reply

