Tabouli

Tabouli is a middle eastern salad traditionally made of bulgur, tomato, cucumber, and finely chopped parsley and mint, seasoned with olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. I made some today using quinoa in place of the bulgur.

Quinoa contains more high quality protein than any other grain and contains no gluten.  It is easy to prepare and easy to digest, and I have been wanting to use more of it in my cooking, so tabouli seemed like a good place to start.

I have green onions, parsley, mint, cilantro, tomato, and cucumbers in my garden and recently purchased a fantastic organic olive oil, so I just had to purchase two lemons for fresh lemon juice.  The herbs are easy to grow and don’t take up much room – you’d be surprised how often you use them when they are right outside your door!  The recipe is delicious and tastes so fresh and clean.  I will definitely be making it again!

Leave a Reply

