Recipe Number One

I remember my mother baking cookies often.  In a way I suppose they symbolize home and comfort and love.  She baked peanut butter cookies, gingersnaps, sugar cookies, icebox cookies, and the kind I baked today – Ranger Cookies.  I don’t know where the name came from, but there is nothing fancy about them, just a basic cookie dough with oats and coconut added.  They are good though, and I’m always glad to add oats to recipes for the added nutrition and fiber.

Here is the recipe in my mom’s handwriting which hasn’t changed over the years.  She has beautiful handwriting and even took a calligraphy class once because she enjoyed writing.

I used butter instead of shortening because I think shortening was one of the worst and most unhealthy things ever invented.  Maybe it made cookies crispy or something, but I prefer the real taste of butter.

I think they turned out great (and so did my husband and grandson)!  I’ll tuck some away in the freezer for my brother’s visit next week and ask him about his cookie memories!

One thought on “Recipe Number One

Leave a Reply

