More Cookies

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for Cracked Chocolate  Cookies for a while now.  Chocolate chips in a chocolate cookie sounds so good, and they didn’t disappoint me.  I’m not a huge fan of regular chocolate chip cookies – oatmeal raisin are actually my favorite – but the double dose of chocolate makes these one of my new favorites.  Rolling the dough balls in powdered sugar makes them look so pretty when they come out of the oven.  I don’t remember my mother making these, but she must have.

I substituted butter for the shortening again, and it seems to have worked out okay.  The dough is a little sticky to handle, and I’m not sure if it would be that way if you used shortening, but they seem to have turned out fine.  The recipe says to cool them on foil, so I did, but I’m not sure why.  Maybe because they are a tender cookie and a cooling rack might wreck them??

Here’s the recipe in my mother’s handwriting and the finished cookie.

One last thought:  Why do I have the idea that cookie dough doesn’t have any calories?  I’m always careful to not eat too many cookies, and I know we aren’t supposed to eat cookie dough, but I can never resist, and this dough is delicious!

Leave a Reply

