Reach For the Light

On my kitchen counter right now are lots of little pots with pepper and tomato seedlings in them.  They are sitting under grow lights, but I have too many pots to sit directly under the lights, so I have to continually rotate them, and at any given time there are some pots that are several inches away from the lights.  It is amazing to watch how quickly the seedlings in these pots start leaning toward the light.  It seems like a matter of minutes before their stems start turning in the direction of the light.  They don’t waste any time because something in them knows  they need the light.

Naturally, I started to relate this idea to people.  I started to write about what it means to reach for the light and walk in the light, but then I realized that deep inside of us we all know what it means.  We know when our thoughts, words, and actions are reflecting the light, when we’re choosing to live in the light.  We are created with that knowing inside of us, but because of fear, living life on automatic pilot, pressure to conform, laziness, hurts, or maybe even thinking we know more than that innate wisdom, we choose not to walk in the light.  This isn’t always a conscious choice, but it’s still a choice.

Psalm 119:105 says “Your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path”.  I believe that same word is written in our hearts, but sometimes it helps to read the written word to be reminded of what it means to live in the light.  So when I read “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think on these things” or “In the same way you judge others, you will be judged” or “Do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear” or “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” or “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other”,  I know that actually doing these things is a wise thing to do, it’s reaching for the light.

What are the results for plants when they are able to live in the light?  They are healthier, stronger, sturdier, and they grow and produce what they are meant to produce, whether it’s tomatoes or peppers or cabbages or broccoli.  They fulfill their destiny, and I have a feeling that they enjoy doing it.  I know that I want the fruit of my life to be healthy and abundant.  Whatever God planted in me, I want it to grow and mature and produce fruit that blesses humanity and brings more light into the world, whether that is through the written word or some other creative endeavor or inventing something or caring for people or exposing darkness.  I know for that to happen I need the light, and only I can put myself in a position to receive it.

Leave a Reply

