Christmas Cookies

I have cut way back on Christmas baking, but I still feel like I have to make a few goodies.  This year two family members are eating a gluten-free diet so I wanted to make something that they could eat – my mom’s recipe box and gluten-free Rice Krispies to the rescue!  I remember my mom making Rice Krispy Date Nut Cookies, but I don’t think I had made them before.  A really simple recipe, and no baking!

002

Here’s her recipe and a few of the ingredients.  I also needed one egg, butter, sugar, and coconut.  I just mixed the egg, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 cup chopped dates, and 1 stick of butter in a saucepan and cooked for 5 minutes.  Then I removed it from the heat, added 1 tsp. vanilla and let cool.

003

After it cooled, I added 2 cups Rice Krispies and 1/2 cup chopped pecans.

004

Then I rolled them into balls (walnut size) and rolled them into coconut.

005

I love dates, and I love these cookies.  Thanks, Mom, and thanks for all the goodies you made over the years.  I know it was your way of showing love. We will miss you this Christmas and the way you always won the dice game!  Seems like you always went home with the most prizes. We’ll be thinking of you.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

    1. Isn’t it interesting how recipes and food bring back memories! My mom was a good cook and baker and also loved to play cards and games (and loved to win). Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

