Heavenly Days

Normal Day!

Let me be aware of the treasure you are. . .

Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. . .

I first read these words from a poem by Mary Jean Irion when I was attending nursing school.  I often baby-sat for a doctor and his wife, and they had these words framed on their wall.  Even then, they struck me as important.  Even then, I knew that our lives are a series of normal days which we need to stop and appreciate.

Maybe all our days are really divine days if we only change the way we look at them.  One of my favorite quotes is from Wayne Dyer: “When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at, change”.

Maybe each day is full of moments of grace – blessings in the form of people, animals, clouds, sun, rain, pieces of beauty that we can choose to see or choose to overlook.  Maybe that person who seems to lead a charmed life with good things always coming their way is appreciating the little things, thus making them the big things.

I’ve decided to start looking for the divine in each day.  And I’ve decided to take one photograph each day of something seemingly ordinary, mundane, common and see it with new eyes.

002I have an area of my counter which always looks like a mess this time of year.  I am bringing vegetables in each morning and gathering herbs to dry, and they always end up on one side of my counter.  It’s never clean, but instead of looking at it as a mess, I’m going to start thinking of it as abundance.  We love fresh vegetables, and they have to go somewhere.  I love having my own dried herbs to use for tea and cooking, and before they get washed and hung somewhere to dry, they go on the counter.  If the counter gets too full, and I can’t freeze, can, or dry the excess, they go to a family member, neighbor, or co-worker.  There’s no better feeling than giving fresh garden produce to someone who really wants it.

So, yes, today is a normal day.  I get home from work and head out to the garden.  There’s a mess in the kitchen, but it’s a mess with meaning.  It means we are blessed – with food, health, strength, a home, meaningful work, and the freedom to enjoy it.  “Let me be aware of the treasure you are.”

Leave a Reply

