Day 7 Heavenly Days

I looked around my kitchen this morning and saw

herbs hanging to dry

004

herbal hand salve that I made yesterday

003

granola I made a couple days ago with organic oats, almonds, honey, coconut, and almond butter

002

and lots of vegetables

001

If I had opened the cabinets, I would have seen essential oils and herbal tinctures of goldenseal and echinacea that we use sometimes in the winter during cold/flu season.

I thought about the fact that since I was a teen-ager I’ve been interested in a natural way of life.  I didn’t make an effort to be that way.  It just feels right for me, and I am happiest when I am outdoors walking or in the garden or in the kitchen whipping up something healthy or making soap or other things that are good for our bodies and smell amazing (with natural scents, of course).  I don’t try to force other people to be just like me (well, maybe just encourage them a little!).  I believe we were all created with our own gifts and talents and a way of being that is right for us.  The sooner we learn to flow with our natural bent, the more we learn and grow and become creative with it.

I love to observe the differences in people and find it amazing just how early in a child’s life we can notice their natural inclinations.  It seems to me that one of the best things we can do for people is to allow them to be themselves, even when they are struggling to find out for themselves what that means.  Life is just more fun when you’re doing what you love and are good at doing!  And we all benefit from the wisdom and genius that is inside each one of us when it is allowed to be expressed.

Leave a Reply

