Day 16 Heavenly Days

So how can day 3 of a garage sale with temps in the 90’s and high humidity be considered heavenly?

Well, it’s part of life – clearing out the old and making room for the new (only hopefully not quite so much of it).

I get to spend time with my daughter and grandson.  We’re busy and don’t really see that much of each other, so it’s nice to have an excuse to take the time to be together.

I was able to give away zucchini!

3 little kids from the neighborhood came over and were eager to visit.  I had seen them playing before but hadn’t met them.  I do know they have difficult family situations, so I like them to know they have someone they can trust nearby.  I know from experience the risk of befriending children who have lots of unsupervised free time and can roam all over – they can be so hungry for attention that they gravitate to anyone who will listen and they may come often and want to stay for long periods of time – but it’s definitely worth it.  Part of being their friend is being able to kindly set limits.  At the ages of 5, 6, and 7, these kids are absolutely adorable!

You meet interesting people.  Sometimes people really open up and tell you stories.  That hasn’t happened yet this year, but I’ve reconnected with some people I haven’t seen in a long time.  One neighbor who I hadn’t seen for a while came over, and I could see he is not doing so well physically.  It was an effort for him to walk over, but after he left, he went home and got his new puppy to meet us, a photo album to show me a picture of his granddaughter, and some sweet corn to share with us.  I’ve got to remember to keep an eye on him and maybe bring him a meal from time to time.

I learned about another family about a block away who just moved in and just had a new baby.  It might have been a while before I found that out. Some vegetables and a batch of cookies might be in order there!

Our little town has “city-wide garage sales” in the spring and the fall, and a lot of people are out and about for these sales.  From people looking for antiques, to parents looking for kid’s clothes and toys, to people just looking for an interesting bargain or something to do, it’s become somewhat of a tradition.  You never know who you will meet or what you will find. I’m thinking that after a couple of hours today, we may just give everything away.  That would be the most fun of all.

Leave a Reply

