Day 22 Heavenly Days

001

I’m not an over-the-top decorator, but I love bringing out things that remind me fall is almost here.  Something about the warmth of the colors and the thought of all the wonderful autumn foods that go along with dishes like these owl plates.  Pumpkin pie, caramel apples, chocolate-pumpkin cake, butternut squash soup, roasted root vegetables – I love that it once again feels good to heat up the kitchen.

004

Isn’t this pitcher beautiful?  I know some people collect dishes in this pattern, but this is the only piece I have, and I don’t even know the name of the pattern.  I just know I like it.

003

These plates are actually from Walmart – sometimes they come out with patterns I really like – and I waited until they went on clearance to buy them.  There are actually four different patterns, and I bought two of each.  I do have a little problem with dishes, and this past year I decided that just because I like something, it doesn’t mean I have to have it.  I’ve also decided that if I do buy more dishes, I have to give away some that I already have.  Mostly I just don’t go looking for them as much anymore, and I try to really use and enjoy the ones I have.

I listened to a guy talk recently about practicing restraint – not having to have so much beyond our actual needs.  That makes sense.  If I can’t enjoy what I already have, I’m not going to enjoy having more.  I’m not a fan of clutter, but I do have a way of accumulating it, and I’m planning to be more conscious of this in the future.  This same man talked about the fact that we don’t have to practice restraint so much in our spiritual needs – friendship, love, nature, singing – we can almost always use more of those things in our lives.  In fact, it may be the lack of those things that causes us to try to fill that empty place with material things.

Of course, there’s nothing wrong with material things, and I think we should appreciate and enjoy them.  I just think it’s easier to do that when we have elegant, beautiful, well-made things – things someone put love and care into making – and when we don’t have too many. I’ve decided that I’m going to start enjoying people, relationships, beautiful places, happy times, and creating healthy, delicious, beautiful, memorable meals.  And I’m going to serve those meals on some of the lovely dishes I already have!

Leave a Reply

