You Don’t Have to Have All the Answers (and that’s a good thing)

Want to know what I am thankful for today?  I’m thankful for the ability to sit with uncertainty . . .  and be happy. . . and be comfortable. . . and not go crazy!  A strange thing to put on a gratitude list, but, oh, such a big and wonderful thing to have happen in one’s life!

I pretty much gave up worrying a long time ago and usually manage to expect the best in a situation, but you know that anxious, unsettling feeling that often goes along with the things in our lives that can seem overwhelming or out of our control?  That feeling that makes us say: “I want this to be over with” or “I just HAVE to do something!” or “How can I manipulate things so that they turn out the way I want them to?” or sends us to the kitchen to eat again or somewhere to go shopping or makes us get on our phones just to try to alleviate that uncomfortable feeling?  I still deal with that feeling from time to time but firmly believe that it doesn’t have to be that way.

I have a few goals in my life right now that are kind of big for me.  Sure, I have broken them down into steps and written a plan to help me accomplish them, but still they are out of my comfort zone and challenging for me.  I also have a situation that is disturbing to me, and, because it involves other people and not me directly, there is not a lot I can do, outwardly anyway,

In the past these things might have sent me into overload or at least caused a slight level of anxiety always there just under the surface.  As I thought about these things yesterday, I realized that I am totally able to just sit with them right now and be perfectly content and at peace.  I’m also able to visualize my goals being reached with no idea of how it is going to happen, and I’m able to believe that harmony and the best possible outcome will be the end result of the situation over which I have no control.

It doesn’t mean there won’t be hard work and maybe some messiness along the way.  There will also be lessons learned and lots of growth.  I believe the possibility of being at peace in all circumstances is within the reach of all of us.  In my own life, the power to do this comes from faith in God, Love, the source of all things, the creative designer of this grand universe.  As I learn to have an active faith in the goodness behind this creative design, I learn to relax and do the things I can do and the things that naturally flow out of my heart and let go of the question of how things are going to unfold.

So, yes, I’m thankful for the ability to not only be comfortable with uncertainty but to be grateful for uncertainty.  I know that uncertainty will always be a part of life on this earth, and the more I can learn to be at peace with it, the more fulfilling and exciting life will become.  I have faith in the goodness of God, but I also believe I have a large part to play by following the inner voice (Holy Spirit), doing what is put in front of me to do, resisting the temptation to think I am responsible for how things get done, staying in faith, and keeping things like fear, uncontrolled anger, hate, envy, and greed out of my life.  For all of us, life can be a satisfying, fun, exciting, challenging journey, and so much of that journey depends on how we look at it.  Always look at it through the eyes of gratitude. . .

Leave a Reply

